No Bake Lactation Oatmeal Bars

I had a life milestone last weekend.

I made yummy no bake lactation oatmeal bars from scratch! Yey!

Sounds OA but please don’t judge me, because I can’t, for the life of me, cook or bake so having been able to make these makes me want to high five myself haha.

I’ve been exclusively breastfeeding Raven for 4 months now and I noticed that since going back to work, there are times when there’s a slight decrease of milk output when I hand express (specially if I’m stressed and have no sleep, which is the story of my life haha).

(Read the first installment of my Breastfeeding Diary here.)

Of course, frequent and correct nursing is still the BEST course to ensure that you’ll have a steady supply but there are also food (known as galactagogue) that can aide in increasing breastmilk production.

Aside from eating everything with malunggay, another alternative are lactation cookies! After searching for kitchen-noob friendly recipes, I came across this one for no bake lactation bites from the Breastfeeding Pinays group in Facebook which for me is the most doable.




  • 3 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips


  1. Melt in butter in a non-stick pan.
  2. Add in brown sugar and vanilla extract.
  3. Add in rolled oats.
  4. Stir until mixture is fully incorporated unto the oats and put side.
  5. Melt in chocolate chips in either a double broiler or microwave. Add in peanut butter.
  6. Mix until you get a smooth consistency.
  7. In a container, layer half of the oat mixture, melted chocolate and then the rest of the oats on top.
  8. Refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  9. Cut into bar size and enjoy!


The finished product! So good and not just for lactating moms! Ate Keka enjoys these as well.

I have been munching on these whenever I have hunger pangs or when I wake up at odd hours to nurse Raven. These have been lifesavers! And I do notice an increase in supply although it’s more advisable to add brewers yeast (Do you know where I can get these???) to maximize it’s effect.

What can I say? Very easy to make, economical and effective!

Have you got another great/easy recipe or another method that has worked well for increasing your milk supply? Do share!

30 thoughts on “No Bake Lactation Oatmeal Bars

  1. msbolin says:

    hahahaa. thanks for this. im making my own lactation cookies, too. at hindi ko alam na meron palang rolled oats. very helpful. thanks, super. ps my son is now 6months and exclusive breastmilk pa rin sya hanggang ngayon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mhaan.a-ds says:

    Wow! I admire mommies who can hand express, I tried before but nakakangalay talaga sya so I sticked with my breastpump. I still bf my son for 1yr 1 mos and no plans yet for weaning him from breasts. I also tried lactation cookies but mejo mahal so your recipe is super helpful talaga🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kathleen mae francisco says:

    hi im a mom to a 1 month old baby girl and
    exclusively bf my baby,thanks for sharing this no bake lactation cookies. try ko to increase my milk supply lalo na pag balik ko ng work:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

